Eurozone: Every tenth household has invested in cryptocurrencies

Leaders of the United States, Japan, Australia and India, meeting in Tokyo on Tuesday, warned against using force to “change the status quo” in the Asia-Pacific region. China’s growing military influence in the region is worrying.

At the end of their summit in the Japanese capital, the four countries of the “Quad” seemed to draw a parallel between Beijing’s territorial ambitions and the Russian invasion of Ukraine, which “shakes the fundamental principles of the international order”.

Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida warned at a press conference that “any violent change in the status quo will not be tolerated anywhere”.

“Militarization” denounced

As China strengthens its military capabilities and ramps up drills and maneuvers near disputed territories, including Taiwan, US President Joe Biden said Monday that the United States stands ready to deploy its military assets in the event of an autonomous invasion of that territory.

However, he clarified on Tuesday that “strategic ambiguity,” an American doctrine that consists of diplomatically recognizing only mainland China while pledging to give Taiwan the military means to defend itself in the event of an invasion, remained unchanged may be.

Members of the Quad regularly worry about military maneuvers and Chinese attempts to “nibble” Pacific islands. Their Tuesday statement specifically refers to the “militarization” of disputed areas, the “dangerous deployment of coast guard vessels and naval militias, and efforts to disrupt offshore resource exploitation activities by other countries,” so many of the activities China has been accused of out there in of the region.

Joe Biden, Fumio Kishida, Australia’s new Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and India’s Narendra Modi also unveiled a maritime surveillance program aimed at “promoting stability and prosperity in our seas and oceans”.

Never mentioned but ubiquitous

However, their remarks avoided any explicit mention of China or Russia, while the Quad entity is complicated by disagreements with India, the only member that has not condemned Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and has even increased its imports of Russian oil despite criticism.

But Mr. Biden had left little doubt about the Quad’s goals, estimating a few hours earlier that that summit was that of “democracies versus autocracies.”

The US strategy aims for an Asia-Pacific region “free, open, connected, secure and resilient. Russia’s attack on Ukraine only underlines the importance of these goals, the basic principles of the international order,” he added.

Countries in the region are also concerned about Beijing’s efforts to forge alliances with Pacific nations. After a security deal signed with the Solomon Islands last month, China may want to extend it to others: Vanuatu, Samoa, Tonga and Kiribati, according to some media outlets.

Investing in Asia Pacific

Quad members also announced on Tuesday that they plan to invest at least $50 billion in infrastructure projects in the Asia-Pacific region over the next five years. “We are committed to working closely with our partners and the region to stimulate public and private investment,” the statement said.

Mr. Biden on Tuesday ended his Asia trip, which began with a three-day stay in South Korea and which hung on the possibility of the unpredictable North Korea launching a new missile or conducting a nuclear test. That fear has not materialized so far, but Washington has said it is “prepared” for that eventuality.

This article was published automatically. Sources: ats/afp

#Eurozone #tenth #household #invested #cryptocurrencies

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.